April 1983 - Maritime Reporter and Engineering News

SNAME Announces 1983 Committee Chairmen

C.L. French, president of The Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers, recently announced the society's committee chairmen for 1983.

STANDING AND SPECIAL COMMITTEES Advisory Public Service Committee — Donald P. Courtsal, treasurer, Dravo Corporation, Pittsburgh, Pa., and vice president- Advisory Public Service of the society.

Applications Committee — Arnold M. Stein, assistant to the president, M. Rosenblatt & Son, N.Y.

Awards Committee — Rear Adm. Kenneth E. Wilson Jr., (USN-ret.), manager, fleet services, Exxon International Co., Tanker D e p a r t m e n t , Florham Park, N.J.

Banquet Committee — Lawrence B. Bennett, senior vice president and officer-in-charge, Abstech, N.Y.

Budget and Endowments Committee — William C. Freeman, consultant, Tiverton, R.I.

Dinner-Dance Committee — Robert J. Bazzini, regional manager, Transamerica Delaval, Inc., N.Y.

Education Committee — William E. Zimmie, president, Zimmite Corporation, Cleveland, Ohio.

Fellows Committee — Prof.

Richard B. Couch, Department of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering, The University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich., and honorary vice president of the society.

Finance and Audit Committee — John A. Livingston, chairman emeritus, Webb Institute of Naval Architecture, Glen Cove, N.Y., and honorary vice president of the society.

Journal of Ship Research Committee — Ralph D. Cooper, program manager, Flow Research, Silver Spring, Md.

Marine Technology Committee —Capt. Perry W. Nelson, (USNret.), executive vice president, M. Rosenblatt & Son, N.Y., and vice president of the society.

Member Insurance Committee —Robert Axelrod, vice presidentfinance, J.J. Henry Co., Inc., N.Y.

and treasurer of the society.

Membership Committee — William H. Hunley, office manager, CDI Marine Company, Arlington, Va.

Nominating Committee—Capt.

Bruce C. Skinner, USCG, Chief, Marine and Ocean Engineering Section, U.S. Coast Guard Academy, Department of Engineering, New London, Conn.

Papers Committee—Capt. Jack A. Obermeyer, (USN-ret.), manager, Marine Department, Texaco Inc., White Plains, N.Y., and honorary vice president of the society.

Pension Committee — Douglas C. MacMillan, consultant, East Orleans, Mass., and honorary vice president of the society.

Publications Committee — Roy L. Harrington, naval architect and technical manager, Newport News S h i p b u i l d i n g , Newport News, Va.

Scholarships Committee—Capt.

Robert E. Stark, (USN-ret.), vice president, Gibbs & Cox, Inc., N.Y.

Sections Committee — Donald E. Ridley, vice president, Bird- Johnson Co., Walpole, Mass.

Technical and Research Advance Planning Committee—William O. Gray, senior advisor, Petroleum Products Department, Exxon Corporation, N.Y.

Technical and Research Finance and Administration Committee— John T. Gilbride, chairman and chief executive officer, Todd Shipyards Corp., N.Y., and honorary vice president of the society.

Technical and Research Steering Committee—Ronald K. Kiss, assistant deputy commander, Naval Sea Systems Command for Surface Ship Acquisition, NAVSEA, Washington, D.C., and vice president-technical and research of the society.

TECHNICAL COMMITTEES Hull Structure Committee — Norman Hammer, assistant to the director, Maritime Administration, Washington, D.C.

Hydrodynamics Committee — Prof. Lawrence W. Ward, professor of engineering, Webb Institute of Naval Architecture, Glen Cove, N.Y.

Marine Systems Committee — Edward M. MacCutcheon, consulting engineer, Bethesda, Md.

Ship Design Committee — Dr.

Robert S. Johnson, manager-ship design, Ship Systems Command and Control Division, Westinghouse Corp., Baltimore, Md.

Ship Production Committee — Ellsworth L. Peterson, president, Peterson Builders, Inc., Sturgeon Bay, Wise.

Ship Technical Operations Committee — Thomas J. Sartor Jr., v i c e president-Marine Special Projects, Farrell Lines, Inc., N.Y.

Ships' Machinery Committee — Chester L. Long, chief engineer, N e w p o r t News Shipbuilding, Newport News, Va.

Other stories from April 1983 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.